Smile through the sad

This morning a member of our church parish passed after a very long battle with cancer. It has of course put a sobering mood over the day. The funeral is Wednesday, this will be my first Orthodox funeral so I’ve been trying to read up on what to expect. It will basically take the entire day, and I will have Seedling, I just want to be as prepared as I can be. It is such a mixture of emotions, I will miss his sweet personality. My heart aches for his wife and extended family. But I also know he isn’t suffering anymore, and that he is in the presence of God which I imagine to be truly wonderful.

Of course, there was no way to explain to the almost-13-month-old what happened, so she was her normal active, chipper self. Her newest adorable habit: placing small object (tiny books, a toothbrush, a sock etc) on my chest. If I got to pick it up and hold it, or read the book, she takes it out of my hand and places it back on my chest. Being a large chested person, it is an adequate shelf. It is just the silly thing I needed to keep a smile on my face today.

Leave a Reply

