End of July?!

Well, what’s new around here?
-Hubster got called back to the job he was laid off of. He got moved to a different area. He is out of school for summer break until September, picking up all the hours/overtime that he can.
-Seedling is on the verge of crawling. See her demonstrate her skills, pushing up on hands and knees (and sometimes her toes!)

20130731-151501.jpg

20130731-151521.jpg
-baby led weaning is going well. She doesn’t love everything (no thank you Mr. Mango!) but it is so exciting to watch her try, and love, new things! (Pineapple, broccoli, kiwi, meatballs, squash!)
-she still doesn’t sit independently. I just have a feeling she isn’t motivated. She’d rather roll, attempt to crawl, or be held. I’m sure one day she will though.
-Seedling is 7 months old! Wow. Just, wow.
-no reoccurrence of my cycle yet. She was sleeping through the night, but she hit a growth spurt and woke up HUNGRY several times a night, and now I think it’s a habit again. But if this is the only babe we get, I want to cherish every second.
-I’m feeling much mow open to the idea of adopting future children, regardless of if my cycle does ever come back. I read adoption stories and my heart gets all warm and fuzzy. Had a very serious chat about it with Hubster a week or so back. There is a lot to get sorted out before we pursue it, the biggest thing being waiting until after he graduates in May. So we just have it simmering on the back burner.
-2 steps forward, 1 step back in finances. I feel like we are getting better. But this last week it feels like everything fell apart. We blew a months worth of food budget in two weeks and overdrafts the bank account. *sigh*. Some days I fear that we will never get this figured out. That our dreams of a little self sustaining farm will never come to fruition
-on the upside I’ve been getting really active in two local mom groups. One is an Attachment Parenting group. The other is a baby wearing group. Both are pretty relaxed, lots of fun activities and get togethers. It’s easy to do the stay-at-home-hermit thing but I feel SO much better when I get out, get some fresh air and have adult interactions.
-trying to line up some minimally-expensive summer trips. We are planning to visit some family on the other side of the state this weekend. Then there is a big church camping trip at Mount Rainier. One family signed up for more nights than they can stay for. They already payed, just offered us their campsite! So the only expense is the gas to drive there! Just the ability to take a step away from the day to day and regroup as a family.
-struggling with my weight. Despite my current efforts it counties to creep up. I know I need to buckle down and just cold turkey quit the junk. Of course, being summer, ice cream is my biggest weakness. But I just have to say no! Easier said than done… But with the Dormition Fast starting, I think it is a perfect time to refocus on prayer and gratitude. I find it much easier to abstain from something when I am doing it for God than just for myself.

And Seedling just woke up from her nap! I’m sure there is more to say but I’m outa time! πŸ™‚

5 responses to this post.

  1. adorable πŸ™‚
    do you sit her? does she sit when when you sit her up?

    Reply

    • She sits with support – i.e. her bumbo or high chair. But if I just sit her on the floor she slumps over. Since she is progressing in other areas, her pediatrician isn’t concerned. With her attempts to crawl she is demonstrating core strength, shed just rather be moving.

      Reply

  2. OH, the second picture will make a nice one to “reveal” at her 16th birthday….

    Reply

  3. Congrats on the new/old job! She is looking so dang cute and BIG! How is she already almost crawling? I swear, time goes just too fast for me. I hear you about the whole money thing. Ugh. Just start to get some air and something else hits you hard and fast. So much stress! Hope you can work it out. And maybe we could get little self sustaining homesteady type farms next to each other! One day… πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

