Insanity

I finally understand what happened to all parents everywhere to make them crazy. See, I’ve been staunchly anti-crazy when it come to talking to things that don’t talk back.

Most everyone agrees talking to plants? Crazy. Talking to your pets? Crazy (socially acceptable, but still a little crazy). So I’ve never done it! However, with Seedling I have to work really hard to talk to her. Tell her about the plans for the day. Narrate what I am doing, as I do it. Review all we’ve done that day.

Sample conversation: “Seedling, today we are going to visit Suzy. Isn’t that exciting? (No response) I know you’re excited, her babies will be there, aren’t you looking forward to playing with them?! (No response) Oh, and now I’m just going to pour myself some almond milk. See? I am just over here by the fridge, now I’m opening the door, now I’m pouring… Be careful you don’t spill! But if you do spill, that’s ok, we can clean it up (no response….)”

And she will smile or frown, giggle or coo, spit bubble or spit up. But it’s not like she really talks back. I can feel myself slipping into craziness as this is getting more and more second nature. I’m more or less talking to myself. Like a crazy person. But it’s totally worth it for the precious, adorable, bouncing baby girl.

I just needed to acknowledge it. πŸ™‚ The little things that change when you become a parent!

3 responses to this post.

  1. I read how much talking like this to your baby helps, so I did it all the time. I once ha a lady in the store give me a really strange look and ask if I really thought she could understand what I was saying. I smiled (though I wanted to be sarcastic) and said she understands more than we think. Jessica (2.5 now) has an amazing vocabulary and is putting together understandable sentences. Don’t quit! πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • I do try to keep it up πŸ™‚ sometimes I feel impatient that we have so long to wait until she starts talking… I sing, read to her… Just try to keep the commentary going!

      Reply

  2. LOL. Nobody else thinks you’re crazy though. Everyone just thinks “aw, what a good mommy.” πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

