Midnight Mumblings

Oh it’s been so long *sigh*.

– Last weekend Seedling was baptized into the Eastern Orthodox Church. It was so beautiful and moving, and I am so excited to share pictures with you all!

– Seedling is going through a growth spurt… Or something. Her sleep rhythm is all out of whack, she has been heart-breakingly cranky… Spending most of her time in the Ergo, frequent small-snack feedings. We are running on low, broken sleep. I’m just hoping we are on the upslope and on our way out of it…

– Hubster found a job! We are very excited to be able to pay our bills… But admittedly it comes with mixed emotions. With him being in school full time, he misses plenty, but he’s been able to spend time with Seedling in the morning. So far he has been having “Father-Daughter” day when I work on Saturdays. See, with Hubster covering Saturdays and my mom watching Seedling on Fridays, I only have to pay for daycare one day a week. Let me break down the math for you:
Daycare 1 day a week $200 a month.
Gas for a month about $160 a month.
My paycheck for a month about $400 a month.
So… Not a lot of wiggle if I have to pay for another day of daycare. But Hubsters new job? Full time, mornings Monday through Saturday. Which means I’m trying to figure out who will watch Seedling on Saturdays… I have some short term options with friends and family but nothing that will work long term… Also that means Hubster will go back to being home for about 5 or 6 hours. It breaks my heart he will miss out on time with Seedling. But also really overwhelming to think it will be back on me to take care of Seedling. I have gotten used to having Hubster be able to give me the occasional helping hand. I think back to when Seedling was first born and Hubster was working and going to school…. That was so hard. But I wasn’t working then. Now I’m working on top of it. It feels like too much. But I can’t just quit… What if Hubsters job doesn’t work out? We need me to have something to fall back on… It’s all just very complicated. I’m not explaining it very well. Low on sleep. Highly emotional. My daughter is fussing and needs some snuggles, so I’ll unpack it all, more, better, later.

All that matters is that I have a daughter to snuggle. The rest will work itself out. Right? Right.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Taking care of a baby is sooooooo much easier than taking care of a newborn. I couldn’t handle newborns, seriously. I wept the hours I was alone with them. But once they turned about 3 months and they ate a little bit faster and slept a smidge longer, it changes everything.

    You can do this, I promise. And since it appears that illness never manifested in my house, I’m back up for doing an overnight or some other shift if that’s what you need.

    Reply

  2. So hard! I am so glad that hubby found a job and I really hope it works out!!! It would be so nice for you to be able to quit… but beyond that, just to have the stability and peace of knowing the job is going to be there, that’s HUGE. And yes, yes things will work out. Mother Teresa once said “I know God won’t give me anything I can’t handle; I just wish He didn’t trust me so much.” LOL. *hugs* Get some sleep mama!

    Reply

  3. Congrats on hubs new job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

