Saying Goodbye, and Looking Ahead

Well, Thursday we had lots of snuggles, cuddles, kisses and pictures with Radar. He went peacefully and well loved. Hubster and I took turns comforting each other. Then I went and visited with Suzy for a little bit. It was a good distraction, hearing about her recent visit from her mom and trying to juggle being a mom of two now… Then came home. There were times I was really struck with the loss… Walking in and only seeing two doggy faces greeting me. Grabbing two leashes instead of three to walk the dogs. Only filling 2 bowls instead of 3 for meals. There were times the grief would come, and hit me suddenly. Jagged breathing, fat tears spilling over my eyes, and then just like a wave coming and going just as quickly, I was suddenly able to breath and see through dry eyes. And so I would let those grief waves come as they may. We are getting through this. Everyone has been so kind.
**********************
Then Saturday we had our first baby shower, hosted by our Parish. It was actually in honor of me and three other women. (Another woman pregnant and due in a week, the other two recently gave birth to their babies) It was a great opportunity to get to know some other women in my parish, it was very wonderful.

I know usually this is where someone lists all the gifts they received, but of course when folks are coming to a party for multiple people the gift giving is less individualized. We basically were given several sweet cards with cash, but my hope is that after our next shower, we can look at what we need and get a few most important things. It really is perfect.
*********************
We’re at week 29. According to Hubster’s calculations, we have 78 days to go (plus or minus 14 days…) which feels surprisingly short. I think back to when I found out we were pregnant and it feels like some other lifetime… So much has happened in the last 6 months! I just can’t get over what an unexpected blessing this conception was, or how smoothly the pregnancy has gone. I can’t take credit for any if it, I don’t think there’s anything I did to make this all happen. I’m just so grateful that it has happened.

And, because I forgot to post it previously: the bump shot taken last weekend at 28 weeks, the beginning of the third trimester!

20121014-192752.jpg

One response to this post.

  1. I’m so sorry you had to say goodbye to one of your sweet pups. Hugs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

