Just Going into Hermitatood Around Here

Wow.  I can’t believe how long it has been since I last posted.  But really, I’m not sure when I would have.  Basically, working and sleeping takes up the vast majority of my time.  So, then it comes down to my free time.  And I’m usually pretty exhausted.  If I still have physical energy I work on knitting, as I have somewhere around 5 projects in the works, some larger and smaller, some more complicated… and everything has to get done for the holidays.  If I have mental energy, I work on getting through what I am affectionately calling my “leaning tower of pisa pregnancy/labor/parenting” books.  And, well, blogging takes a certain amount of both physical and mental energy.  Honestly, I usually have a serious lack of mental or physical energy, and I break down in tears at the prospect of walking the dogs occasionally – and I spend my time on the couch watching Face Off, Bones, or this Sunday was the premier of Once Upon a Time…!!!

Honestly, I’m doing very little blog reading too.  Because if I have the mental energy to read, I have to address the pile of books mentioned earlier.  I think about you guys a ton, but it is what it is.

If I have free time, energy and mental ability, I am spending it with hubster or with a variety of friends IRL – I think as I’m slowing down, I’m becoming more and more aware of how important these relationships are, and that I may get to see less and less of my friends as I slow down even more, and especially after trying to juggle motherhood.

Even as I am looking ahead, trying to prepare myself as much as possible, I can’t deny my history.  This weekend we found out that a friend from Hubster’s high school days (who he has kept in touch with through the magic of facebook) lost her baby.  She’s basically been at the same place as me, our pregnancies almost parallel in progression.  As heartbroken as I have felt for her, Hubster has taken it especially hard, and will well up when he finds his thoughts wandering to her and her family, and the little boy they lost.

It’s hard to juggle all the emotions, as one of my best friends Suzy had her second child, a girl, on Wednesday and Sunday we went over and got to hold this teeny, tiny, precious gift and talk about how her first 4 days as mom of a toddler and a newborn has been.

Also on Wednesday I went in for my glucose tolerance test.  It wasn’t so bad, I’ve heard so many horror stories!  Yes, being hungry sucked.  Drinking the equivalent of flat, extra sweet 7up wasn’t exactly what I would describe as “refreshing”.  And I still have a slight bruise on the back of my left hand from the numerous blood draws (stupid tiny veins they can’t ever find in my arms!) I haven’t heard from my midwife yet, so I can only assume the numbers were normal and she’ll tell me at my next appointment on the 9th.  Although I’m a tad grumpy she hasn’t called regardless.

In general, I’ve been quite grumpy, my patience receding all the time.  So social interactions are more and more taxing as snarkier and snarkier comments run through my mind and I have to be more intentional about choosing my words and reactions.  Which is perhaps why, after working a full shift as a receptionist (hello- phone calls on top of  people checking in on top of people checking out on top of  random morons…) I just want to curl up on the couch and avoid the world.  IRL and online.

So let’s see.  I’m at 27 weeks.  This little girl has been doing better about moving and kicking consistently.  I’ve gained about 15 pounds so far.  I’m still getting used to this bump suddenly growing a lot (I’ve been known to accidentally knock the bump when getting out of and closing my car door).  We have 10 out of the desired 24+ cloth diapers in our stash.  All the major furniture for the nursery, minus the mattress, so it’s just little decorative touches I want to do in there now.  So ya.  That’s where I’m at.  Not sure when I’ll resurface again.  I’m just taking this day by day as much as possible.  And trying to avoid sticking my foot in my mouth as much as possible – which is pretty impressive seeing as how it’s becoming more and more difficult to bend over 😉

3 responses to this post.

  1. haha, I went thru a phase when I practically had to isolate myself from everyone for the fear of ruining my friendships with snarly remarks :)))

    Reply

    • It’s very relieving to know I’m not alone. I really do enjoy pregnancy 90% of the time, it’s just so weird to feel so … Not like myself sometimes.

      Reply

      • then you need to know that the weirdest changes come after birth. I cried daily for the first three weeks or so – for apparently no reason at all. Weird!

        Warn your hubby. Seriously. My sister warned mine – so he was prepared 🙂

Leave a Reply

