No Rest for the Weary

Alrighty, I’ve been meaning to update for several days, but I’ve just been so busy, by the time I actually have time to sit down and write, I just want to go to bed.  I wish I could write something longer, with pictures, but that will have to be another day.

The Job: Is going well.  Last Thursday I had a mini-breakdown before work, as I was trying on various scrubs and trying to determine if it “showed” the bump or not.  I hated the idea that I was hiding my bump.  I love this little girl, and we have wanted her for so long.  It made me feel like I was somehow ashamed of her, to hide the pregnancy?  Hubster was very supportive, and basically said that I should tell them, and if they find some reason to fire me, well, I don’t want to work for someone who would do that anyway.  But of course Thursday was insanely busy and I didn’t get a chance to tell the office manager.  Then we had a 4 day weekend which was wonderful, so Tuesday I went in early and told the woman.  She handled it fairly gracefully.  I’m glad I got it over with, just ripping the band-aid off.  I don’t like feeling like I’m being deceptive.  However, the training this week had been on switch shifts, so I close one night, just to open the next day, and that means VERY little sleep.  However, the woman I’ve been training with has only had positive feedback for me, so I’m feeling good.

The Baby: Also doing good.  Feeling more movement and kicks.  Every hour of work is spent playing a game of chicken with my bladder, trying to decide if I really need to pee, or is she just using my bladder as her personal waterbed?  Because I can’t just go to the bathroom every 20 minutes, we are WAY to busy for that, and most of the time I don’t actually have a significant quantity of urine. So it’s a hoot and a half!  But I’m happy that she’s doing so well.  This month’s midwife appointment was really good, at 23 weeks but my uterus measured 25, almost 26 cm.  Midwife N said that’s because I’m so short (All of 5’2″!) so that it places the uterus more out and up, and then joked that she’s going to be in my lungs before long.  Another future game to keep me entertained at work perhaps?

Projects: Got some sewing done on the baby bonnets with my mom’s help, but the patterns have me stumped without her around to help, so they are just partially completed.  Hubster’s mom sent a package that arrived yesterday, and it was quite emotional.  Included with 3 baby blankets that had been Hubster’s when he was a baby, made by family members, his grandma, great grandma and close family friend.  Needless to say these are beautiful, heirloom, irreplaceable items.  It’s actually kind of scary to think about our baby potentially destroying them, so we agreed we would probably use them for things like “tummy time” when we can keep an eye on baby and blanket to minimize damage to the blankets.  She also bought a couple footed-onesies, and a stuffed horse that rattles and makes crinkly noises.  AND she already bought baby announcement cards!  SO CUTE!  I’m hoping to take pictures of all this stuff soon – it really means a lot to Hubster and I to see his mom be so excited and involved in this pregnancy.

That’s all the time I have, gotta run to work!

2 responses to this post.

  1. So glad everything is going well. It must be a huge relief to have told your boss about your pregnancy, so you don’t have to try to hide it.

    Reply

  2. Glad you told your boss and that it went all right. What a weight off your shoulders! And that box of stuff from your MIL sounds to die for!!! You should get some professional photos of baby with those heirlooms! Also, LOL about the peeing all the time. Just don’t put it off too long, or you’ll get a UTI. Maybe drink some cranberry juice just for insurance? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

