Peaches, beaches, and The Call.

Whew, what a couple crazy days for me! Sunday we had church, and then came gone and tackled a box of peaches from my mom.

Hubster LOVES peach pie (me, not so much) so at his request I made 4 ramekins of peach pie, and put the rest of the peaches to use in jam, making 2 1/2 batches of spiced peach jam. I always forget what a mess making jam is… And how sore my feet get from standing barefoot on linoleum all day! Of course we ended up making 3 trips to the store as I continued to discover I needed something else… Hubster was an amazing sport about it though.

Monday was a real “do nothing day”, puttered about the apartment, ran some errands and took the dogs to the beach. Then headed over to a friends for dinner. As I was driving my phone rang, and it was the job i had interviewed for, so I quickly pulled over to answer it (they have strict laws in this state about talking or texting while driving) and I GOT THE JOB!!!! I was so shocked and excited! They wanted me to start right away, but I knew that today was my last day at my old job, so I asked if I could start Wednesday, and they agreed.

So one job today and a new job tomorrow! Can’t ask for a more seamless transition than that! I’m feeling pretty worn out, it would have been nice to have a few days between, but I’m really excited!!! Although I tallied up my hours from this month, and no wonder I’ve been feeling burnt out – this is normally a very part time job, averaging 20 hrs or less a week… But since I’ve been picking up all the hours I could I was working an average of 38 hours a week! Which I realize is normal full time employment, but it’s not like a normal, 4 or 5 days a week, 8 hours a day. Ive been working 5-7 days a week with irregular choppy hours. But it’s all worth it, we’re going to get a very nice paycheck to carry us through until I start getting paid from my new job.

I’m just feeling so excited and joyful and thankful (and a little guilty and nervous about when exactly to tell my new boss about this pregnancy… But trying not to let that dominate) I really hope you all are having a fabulous week!

4 responses to this post.

  1. WOOHOOO!!! Congrats on the new job! ๐Ÿ™‚ That is just wonderful! I hope you’ll know when it’s right to tell the new boss about the pregnancy, that’s a tough one. Hoping you do get a little bit of a break/rest anyway, though it’s fabulous that the transition is going to be virtually seamless! Amazing! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply

    • Thank you!! Even if I do work the next couple days, I’m sure I will then have a few days off since it is part time.
      I’ve been thinking that I will tell her around 30 days. Unless a particularly opportune moment presents itself before. I want to try and get through my training, and feel like my supervisor has a good idea of what a good employee I can be. But I think any longer than 30 days feels like short notice that I will need done maternity leave… I need to sit down and read up on the laws exactly. I know I won’t qualify for PAID leave, but I think I still qualify for unpaid maternity leave…

      Reply

  2. Congratulations!

    Reply

  3. You are awesome! congratulations, this is great news ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

