Nonsensical Making Sense

I know it has been forever since my last post.

On one hand, there’s not a lot to report. As far as I know, I’m still pregnant. I have an appointment with my midwife on Monday, so anxiously looking forward to hearing the heartbeat on the Doppler!

On the other hand I have had a lot going on in my personal life. I’ve been trying to process a few things, but I haven’t felt the desire to share it all on here like I have in the past. There have been a few people I’ve been trying to track down for advice, and we keep missing each other. As much as I always love blog advice and comradarie, I feel like the heart of a lot of my dilemmas come back to a place of “How does God want me to handle this?” and I know that religion can be a touchy subject on blogs.

This blog has never really been focused primarily as an Orthodox Woman’s blog, it has been an Infertility Blog, but as I am growing in my faith and as I’m in an entirely new place as far as “infertility” goes I realize this blog is probably about to change. And I don’t want anyone to feel blindsided, or confused. I’ve always loved having friends (both IRL and online) from a variety of backgrounds and viewpoints and I don’t want to lose that. I just hope that if I start talking about Orthodox Christianity more no one feels like I’m “preaching” or being pushy, but just like with blogging being a great tool to document the experienced and emotions of infertility, I just don’t see why it can’t be the same for my faith.

But then there is the added confusion of how much do I need to explain? Since all my readers are knowledgable about infertility I don’t ever worry about explaining things like TWW, POAS, or Clomid. But if I use a word like salvation, sacrament or saints, do I need to explain it? And then would I end up spending all my time trying to define my terms instead of talking about the subject at hand?

Does any if what I’m trying to say make any sense???

5 responses to this post.

  1. As soon as you start explaining things, you’ll get bogged down. πŸ™‚ Feel free to email/call/text me if it would help. ❀

    Reply

  2. Don’t try to explain just relax and enjoy this time before the baby appears.

    Reply

  3. I think, for what its worth, write for yourself first and foremost. If you want to edumacate readers about stuff, then you run the risk of losing what you want to say (which I think, paraphrases what you have already said!) and losing your flow.

    If anyone wants to know more, there is always google. Most people are adequate (especially us in the infertility barracks) of finding further information if they want to know. Or you could just use hyperlinks to other sources if you already have sources that explain things nicely.

    Hope you’re in a good place – personal stuff aside πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. I agree, you need to write for yourself. If you have a lot of terms which are not in common parlance, you may want to create a tab with come vocabulary for those who are not Orthodox. I look forward to reading along, no matter what direction your blogs goes in!

    Reply

  5. Personally, I think that the beauty of the Blogosphere is connecting with people from all backgrounds, with a variety of values and belief structures. When I read another blogger’s personal explorations, musings, what have you, it invariably leads me to explore my own beliefs and values. I think it’s an invaluable tool for self-discovery.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

