What To Expect?

Saturday ended up being a “mother daughter day”, we had lunch, went and saw a movie, then did a bunch of cooking (scones and quiche!) as well as added to my little deck garden. (It’s too dark to take pictures now, I promise some in the future!)  It was actually really nice and laid back, especially when events with my mom tend to end with me being frustrated!  And the movie we saw?  What else, but “What to Expect When You’re Expecting”.  I find myself constantly amazed by my ability to do things, or feel things, I wouldn’t or couldn’t have done 3 months ago.  But as someone who didn’t come by this pregnancy easily, it still informs how I watch a movie like this.  So the following is my review, and be warned, there are spoilers, although I try to keep them to a minimum.

The premise is that it follows several couples in their pregnancy/path to becoming parents.  I was pleasantly surprised that there was several acknowledgments of infertility in what is, by and large, a comedy.  One couple miscarries.  One couple has been trying to get pregnant for 2 years before they finally get pregnant.  Another couple has spent their life savings (including their 401k) on infertility/IVF treatments and are now pursuing adoption.  Then there is the couple who accidentally get’s pregnant (hard for me to sympathize there…) and the couple who get’s pregnant on their first try… with twins.  (Again, not a lot of compassion for them).  There is the pregnant lady who pushes herself too hard, the one who gets every terrible symptom and and side effect of pregnancy known to man, and the other one who experiences the easiest pregnancy where it’s all sunshine and unicorn farts (much to the annoyance of everyone around her).  All the husbands/boyfriends are by and large good guys, trying to do the right thing although each with their own flaws and fears.  Hubster had actually meant to surprise me and take me to this movie, and I think it would be worth it to see again, just so he could get the man points-of-views offered.  (It was particularly amusing to see Chris Rock in the role of father-figure. 

And as a big dorky fan of True Blood, I loved the screen time of Joe Manganiello as the eye-candy-jock.)

By and large, it was a good movie, I cried about 4 times.  (The miscarriage, the birth plan that lands in an emergency c-section with complications, the adoption ceremony… and some other time, I can’t really remember.)  Would I have seen this movie if I wasn’t currently pregnant?  That’d be a big “F NO!”, but in our current scenario, I’m glad I went.  I really liked that they showed so many different angles, so many different experiences.  Anyone who is in a good enough head-space to handle seeing several pregnant women on the big screen may well find this movie very enjoyable.

And then, today I took a nap, and had quite an intense dream, I felt inclined to share!  In my dream, there existed a mall-food-court type place that sold a varieties of cookies, with a variety of icing to dip them in.  And they had some kind of frequent-buyer card, and in my dream I had obviously partaken of their services enough, to have earned my free plate of cookies and icing.  Yippee!  But the lady was very suspicious of me and my free cookie card, and pulled me aside to question me.  Basically accusing me of being some kind of drug-seeker?  Then, in some kind of attempt to prove my sobriety, she asked me “How many Pugets are in the Sound?” (For those folks who don’t live ’round here, there is a body of water called “The Puget Sound”.  The question was as nonsensical as asking “How many Blacks are in the Sea” in reference to The Black Sea.  Or “How many Pacifics are in the Ocean?”  in reference to the Pacific Ocean)  As ridiculous of a question as that is in the light of day, in my dream world it was a valid question.  Sort of.  It’s like asking someone to say the “ABC’s backwards”.  Is it possible?  Sure.  But not something you usually request another person to do.  So, in my dream when I was asked the question of how many Pugets are in the Sound I found myself frustrated that I was stumped, and threw out “3” as a guess.  This lead the woman to continue to hold my cookie plate hostage and go off on a diatribe of the evils of drugs and drug seekers, and so as my pregnancy hormones raged, I dug through my purse and finally found my credit card and threw it at her shrieking “Fine, I don’t care if I get them for free!”
(I feel inclined to insert that I am not now, nor have I ever done drugs)

And that is when I woke up, craving cookies and icing.  And Cinnabon cinnamon rolls…  Which is the closest thing to what existed from my dream world.  Needless to say I had neither, so I ate a scone from Saturday with home-made lemon curd.  Tasty, but not the same.  I have to say, I’ve always been someone who has had strong food cravings, but it seems the last week or two that my cravings and food aversions have only stepped up.  I am glad that Hubster has been so supportive, he finds a good way to balance things by not trying to force me to eat what I can’t, but not indulging my every (rather unhealthy!) craving.    Thankfully, so far my weight has remained level… I can only hope to continue an even weight!

One response to this post.

  1. Okay, now I want cookies. 🙂 Or Cinnabon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

