You like me! You REALY like me!

This weekend I got this lovely award!

From Daryl over at Something Out of Nothing!

As per all awards, here are “the rules”!

Here’s the five-step process to follow after being given this award:

  • Share who gave it to you with a link back to their blog.
  • Write down seven random facts about yourself.
  • Give this award to fifteen other bloggers.
  • Let them know they’ve won.
  • Pop the award on your blog.

Since I kind of suck at coming up with random things about me, I did a little google hunt to come up with random questions for me to answer. Here we go:

1-Do you like black and white movies? Why or why not?
Man, I really wish I liked BW movies more. There are some that I’ve seen and love. (Miracle on 34th Street anyone???) But in general I find that BW movies, are just a little cheesy and over-acted. But I know that was just they way they made movies back in the day. Maybe the problem is I have seen so few of them, and I’m not really sure which ones to rent? I’ve seen Psycho, and Casablanca, and thought those was pretty good. So, if anyone out there is a film history buff and wants to recommend some great BW movies, let me know!

2-Do you watch the news on tv? How often?
Um, no. I know, I know, I’m an ignorant American. But here’s the thing. 80% is scary/depressing and the other 20% is stupid stuff I don’t care about. I wish I was more aware of what was going on, but the area I live in is pretty dangerous, so every night they are talking about some person who got held up, or a shooting, or something… and I’m naturally a pretty anxious person. I don’t need more reasons to be scared of my neighborhood. Then if I try to get into global news it’s always about some act of terror or war in a distant country that breaks my heart, but there isn’t really anything I can do to try and help. So I’ll just stick with my funny sitcoms, thankyouverymuch. (Hubster watches the news, and passes on pertinent info to me, so I’m not totally in the dark.)

3-Name one book you had to read but hated, and explain why you hated it.
As someone who LOVES reading, I rarely meet a book I hate (let alone “dislike”) But when I was taking AP Literature in High School, I had to read The Iliad. And that just sucked. It was SOOOO LOOOONG, and would go on and on and ON about random descriptions of random stuff that had nothing to do with the plot. I must admit I didn’t finish it. My friend Polly and I were in that class together, and to try and slog through it we would take turns reading it out loud to one another. We really did try. But this was also part of a book list we had to read before classes even started, so we were trying to read it while on summer vacation. In Hawaii. Seriously?! Who can blame us???

4-At what age did you lose your virginity?
It was November 2004… so I was 19. Hubster and I had been dating a year. (Man, I feel like I remember being older and us having dated longer but I think that’s the truth of it!) We had intended to wait until marriage… I think that was a lot easier back when there was arranged marriages or shorter courtships. When you date for that long, it gets really hard not to want to express your feelings physically. It is a rather unique statement in this day and age to say I’ve only had sex with one person though!
**UPDATED** upon thinking more, it was in fact 2005, not 2004, so we had been dating 2 years, and I was 20. I mis-remembered where I was living in 2004 (we were both in dorms) Few, I feel a little better about that!

5-Do you like to sing karaoke?
I’ve only ever done it once at a friend’s birthday party, but I had a really great time (except for the fact that Hubster was being a party pooper about the whole thing) and would definitely do it again. I have a halfway decent voice when I’m really focused, but of course the grand-ness of karaoke is that everyone kinda sucks, so you just get up and belt it out and have a good time and no one takes it too seriously. I personally really enjoyed singing country songs. Let’s face it, they are musically fairly simple and lots have plenty of spunk and sass!

6-Do you like musicals? (movies or theater)
OhmygoodnessYES! Both. I love them both. I tend to like older movie musicals. I don’t like how a lot of newer musicals don’t actually make up new songs, they just pull songs from pop culture and stick them in. In high school my mom took me to New York and I got to see Cabaret. It was amazing! (And the staged version is definitely superior to the movie. Maybe someone should remake the movie version? They two are just so very different.) One of my first childhood crushes was on Christ.ian Bal.e in the musical “Newsies”. I just think that music is such a great story-telling device that impacts emotions differently than spoken word alone.

…..*phone rings*…..

7-I got pulled away from typing this to do my first ever phone interview.
It was kind of terrifying. Not being able to read their expressions or body language, I had no idea if she thought I was an idiot or if she really liked me. It’s for the world’s cutest baby boutique downtown. In some respects it would be a LOT of responsibility. As manager of a small business, there is not really any wiggle room for slacking (not that I think I’m a slacker, but you guys know what I mean – there really isn’t anyone to come in and “cover” if you’re sick, so you can’t just call in because you feel a little “off”.) but I also think it is just the COOLEST, most unique store. I think it could be just enough of a challenge to be interesting, and just enough of low key as to be what I really want right now. I should hear back from her by Wednesday to see if I will be going in for an in-person interview on either Thursday or Friday, to start training on Monday, and to officially take over on the 29th. *deep breath* Whatever will be, will be, right? And yes, of course, it’s a baby boutique, so me being pregnant kind of came up. I think she sounded excited? But who knows, maybe honesty wasn’t the best policy… but that’s just the kind of person I am.

Now as far as giving out this award… see, the problem is since getting back into blogging, while I follow a handful of blogs, I don’t know that I can say that I’m actually following 15 other blogs right now! And factor in that it seems like everyone has gotten this award here recently… If you blog, and have NOT gotten this award yet, I hope you will take this award and have fun with it. I know that all the blogs I follow (and I try very hard to keep up with everyone who comments on here, unless the commenter doesn’t have a blog) are wonderful, fabulous blogs. I just think everyone has already gotten this award.

On that note, I’m going to curl up with my handy-dandy-new pregnancy book I got today. I was hanging out with Suzy and I found it used for $2, who can pass that up? But it’s the same one she has and really likes, and I figure I really should have something, so I got it. “Your Pregnancy” by Glad B. Curtis. Should be fun, and help get my nervousness out from being all wired over my phone interview!

One response to this post.

  1. Good luck with the job!

    You should totally rent All About Eve and Now Voyager. I loooove Bette Davis!

    Enjoy your pregnancy book!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

