Come and Gone

Well my official birthday came and went.  I had a great afternoon with my dad, catching up, eating decadent seafood and a scenic drive.  I’ve had a lot in my head, trying to work through the whole “turning 27 and what this means for my fertility” hang ups.  Trying to work on having perspective, while also not beating myself up.

I’m really good at beating myself up.

I had a very good conversation with my SIL (brother’s wife, not Hubster’s sister)  Talking about my fears.  Our options.  Fertility treatments.  Adoption.  Different kinds of adoption.  (After our initial consult with the one one adoption agency, nothing else had happened.  The woman never emailed me the paperwork or informational stuff she promised, and I never reminded her.  With Hubster in school, I just know that the way the numbers of income to expenses ratio on the paperwork wont look good.)  And I explained that I don’t feel old in in a regular day to day physical sense, just worried about our future of a family.  And she basically pointed out that we can keep trying fertility stuff for now, and if we end up adopting in our 30’s it’s not like we are somehow “too old”, and will only look better on paper when it comes to the finances stuff.

And really, I just feel a great relief.  I just realized I don’t need to agonize over it.

In other news, I’ve taken up knitting.  As a child my mom taught me how to cross-stitch, and needle-point, and sew.  In high school I learned how to crochet.  So knitting has come on pretty naturally, and in the little group I meet with I’m a bit of a natural, catching on quickly and usually accidentally doing more advanced stuff without realizing it.  So after making a pair of washcloths, I decided to jump right into an exciting project, figuring that at least right now I have a teacher to help me out if (when) I make mistakes or get stuck.  I promise I will post pictures soon!

I also can’t remember if I have posted this, so I’m going to put it out there:  I have lost a full 40 pounds!  Hovering at about 210 these days, just 10 more pounds to go to reach my first major weight loss goal!

And finally, I am really excited about the women’s retreat with my church next weekend.  YAAAYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by thenaki1 on March 22, 2012 at 11:39 pm

    Wow well done on the pounds that is amazing go you!!! Happy birthday by the way too.

    Reply

  2. Posted by babycrazykiwi on March 22, 2012 at 11:40 pm

    oops that prior comment was from me – babycrazy typed in the wrong thing lol.

    Reply

  3. 27!!! you are a baby!!!
    happy bday and best of luck to you 🙂

    Reply

  4. Sounds like things are getting better every day for you. Yay!

    Reply

  5. Glad you had a good birthday. And that you’re feeling better about the whole timeline thing. Congrats on the weight loss, too! That’s amazing!

    Reply

  6. wooohooo for taking up knitting! have you discovered ravelry.com yet? great place for free patterns amongst other things! can’t wait to see what you’re working on! and a huge yay for 40lbs lost–thats incredible!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

