Rent Drama, Adoption Contemplations, and a Plethora of Pills

Once again, life has run away with me!  It was another week of crazy, overbooked, understaffed days at work, to be followed by crazy days off.

A little backdrop: Last month Hubster went in to pay our rent, but wrote a check that was more than necessary.  He was called by the manager, wanting to confirm that the check was correct.  So he happily went back in with the correct amount, and it was understood that the original check was destroyed.

Friday morning his phone starts beeping because he’s getting e-mails from our bank because our account is suddenly overdrawn.  Turns out, that check wasn’t destroyed, and they deposited it for March’s rent.  This check was roughly $200 more than our rent is supposed to be.  So now our bank is overdrawn, with fees etc.  It might not have been a big deal if they had waited 1 day for me to deposit my paycheck.  (I had planned to turn in rent right after my deposit, so by no means was I late or anything)  After my incredibly stressful work week, I was REALLY looking forward to a chill day off on Friday.  But it was not to be.

I have basically spent the last three days trying to figure this out with the property management company.  Because, of course, they “can’t” just write us a check to refund us the extra amount.  No, no, that would be too easy.  They tried to placate us by telling us that we have a credit on our account for next month.  But that doesn’t really help that we have a very strict budget, and really need that extra $200 for groceries and gas.  So they offer that we can keep the credit AND will get us a $100 gas card.  Ok, fine, we can make that work.  But we were supposed to have said card first thing Saturday morning… and here it is Sunday night and we do not have it.  All because the gal in the office forgot that her boss is off on weekends, and she needs her boss to get the money so she can go buy the gas card.

*facepalm*

In other news: FRIDAY WE MET WITH AN ADOPTION AGENCY.  There is really only one major agency here in the Northwest (based on my rudimentary internet research)  While they have a wide range of reviews, good and bad, for them on a national level, I figured it wouldn’t hurt to just go and get some info.  It was fairly laid back, we met up at a Starbucks and chatted for about an hour and a half, about the adoption timeline and getting questions answered.  While we met to discuss domestic infant adoption, she brought up some interesting points about foster-adopt.  While we haven’t decided to pursue that, it wasn’t really something Hubster or I had seriously considered either.  Since one of the biggest complaints about this agency is how the birth mothers are treated, I tried to ask a lot of questions about that.  What I found impressive is that, while they are a national agency, they do as much regionally as possible.  So, for example, our adoption books would be showed to local birth moms.  There are regular outings/retreats for the birth moms.  By keeping thins on a local scale as much as possible, they are able to make a better commitment to avoid anyone falling through the cracks in the after-care.

I still don’t know where I stand.  I’m doing my best to be open to all the options.  To see where God leads.  In a lot of ways, I want to do it all.  I want to get (and stay) pregnant.  I want to adopt, I know there are so many wonderful children in need of a loving home, and my heart aches for them.  But the idea of taking on an older child (or children, there is a great need for people to open their homes to sibling groups) just seems so much bigger than an infant.

And I can’t even have a pint of ice cream to satiate myself from all the stress with food!  But on the upside?  This morning the scale read 208.5.  More than 40 pounds gone.  Kind of crazy to think about, that I was ever 250 lbs.  But clothes are fitting better, I’m feeling better, so I’m just gonna keep plugging along, trying to eat right.  And I even started taking my vitamins again.  Which includes the Metformin.  Which equals exactly 20 pills every day.
AM: fish oil, multi-vitamin, calcium, metformin, collagen, and herb from my acupuncturist called Suan Zao Ren Tang.  (Supposed to help balance me out so I sleep better – and it actually works!)
Noon and PM: fish oil, multi-vitamin, calcium, metformin, collagen, folic acid, and the SZRT.
But if I’m really going to try and take care of myself, and be open to any option God has planned for us, I figure my pills should probably be taken.

3 responses to this post.

  1. wow, you’re doing great with the weight loss! 40 pounds – you must be so proud of yourself!
    thanks for reminding me to take my vitamin ;)))

    Reply

  2. Glad that you met up with the adoption agent. I hope that you are able to start a family soon in whatever method you choose.

    Reply

  3. Good for you! The weight loss, meeting with the adoption agency, taking vitamins. It sounds like you’re getting it all together!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

