My First Angel-Food Cake

My mom had her birthday this last sunday, but as she was fencing in Vegas, we couldn’t get together to celebrate.  SOOOO, last night we got together at her place, made dinner, exchanged a gift and cake.  She had requested angel food cake, but to be honest I’m not the biggest fan, every angel food cake I have gotten from a store has been kind of dry and bland.  So I came up with the grand idea to make one myself, after looking up recipes and realizing I would only need a few ingredients from the store as I had most of them anyway.  I was nervous, because it’s supposed to be light and fluffy and was worried I would overcook it or not get it fluffy enough but it came out pretty great!  So I also made homemade whipped cream, and topped with fresh raspberries.

Everything all together….

Looks good enough to eat, hu?  The cordial in the background was this amazing chocolate-cherry stuff my mom had that we ended up drizzling on the cake.  SO GOOD!

My mom-mala, along with her fancy new “birthday plate and birthday tea mug” (I also bought her new tea, you’ll just have to believe me that it’s in the mug)  I don’t know about you guys, but I think she was pretty happy with her gifts 🙂  It’s hard to see, but the plate and mug had this really pretty white-on-white swirly design.  And the cool thing with the mug is that it came with a “basket” that holds loose-leaf tea while it steeps.

So, I know what you all are thinking…. and YES, here are the recipes!  I basically combined two different recipes to make it work with what I had on hand.

Tulips’ Super-Amazing (Slightly-Citrus-Surprise!) Angel Food Cake:

12 egg whites (approximately 1 1/2 cups worth)
1 1/4 cups confectioners’ sugar
1 cup all-purpose flour (I used pastry flour)
1 1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar (I ended up sprinkling a bit more in because it was taking a long time to thicken)
1 1/2 vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon almond extract
Orange zest from 1 orange (This is where I made it my own, and I think it worked really well without being overpowering)
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup sugar (I used raw sugar)

1) Separate egg yolks from whites.  Place in mixing bowl; let stand at room temperature for 30 minutes.
2) Meanwhile, sift confectioners’ sugar and flour together (it said to do it 3 times, I only did it once….) then set aside.
3) Add cream of tartar, extracts, zest and salt to egg whites.  Beat on high speed until frothy.  Gradually add sugar, beating until sugar dissolves and stiff peaks form.  (Here is where I added a dash more cream of tartar, I think that something about the orange zest was keeping the egg mixture from thickening even with the mixer on high for 15-20 minutes)
4) Gently fold in flour mixture, 1/4 cup at a time.
5) Gently spoon mixture into 10″ tube “bundt” pan.  (The directions called for it to be un-greased, but then we had a helluva time getting it out.  So I plan to next time lightly grease the pan so the poor cake doesn’t come out looking so mutilated.)  Cut through batter with a knife to remove air pockets.
6) Bake at 350 degrees ferenheit for 40-45 minutes, or until cake springs back when lightly touched.  (I started smelling the “Done cake” smell at 30 minutes, so check it at about 15-20 minutes to make sure you don’t overcook it!)
7) Immediately upon removing from the over invert the pan.  Let the pan cool COMPLETELY before removing cake from pan.

Home-Made Whipped Cream
(There are a million recipes out there, this is just what I did)

4 cups heavy whipping cream
4 teaspoons vanilla extract
~2 tablespoons raw sugar (I start minimally, and taste-test – I find most recipes use too much sugar and it’s too sweet but that’s just me!)

Put mixer in high and watch it thicken!  Everyone likes their’s at different consistency, I tend to like mine when it looks fairly firm, but as soon as it is forming stiff peaks you can serve it.  The longer you whip it the firmer it gets.  (Anyone else suddenly hear the song “Whip it good!” playing in their heads?)

4 responses to this post.

  1. Looks fantastic. 😀

    Reply

  2. Now I’m hungry….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

