Can we try this over?

Today was just one of those days. I went into work, and instead of the normal upbeat banter, people were tense, impatient, and generally grumpy.

I lost count of the times I cried today.

I’m just so overwhelmed. I’ve been there long enough, that even with the truncated formal training, I should not be making some of the stupid mistakes I make. As they have had to pull their more experienced techs to the back to cover treatment and surgery, I have somehow become the head front technician.

Hello, pressure!

When I make a mistake, it effects the ENTIRE hospital.

I love this hospital, but I am just not good enough to be in this place of leadership. When I try to “be in charge”, people think I’m cocky and arrogant. But if I don’t take control, then I’m insecure and don’t have initiative.

I know I need to talk with my manager, I’ve been racking my brain as to how exactly do that. I need be really careful with what words I choose… I don’t want to make it worse. I just don’t really even know what I need more training in, but obviously I need to figure that out ASAP!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by babycrazxykiwi on December 5, 2011 at 9:09 pm

    Definately sounds like you should talk to the manager. Best to do it now before the situation gets totally out of hand. I would just approach the manager and air your concerns….(I realise that, that isn’t easy)….use assertive language relating to yourself, taking the angle that you are wanting to do the job to the best of your ability, however are experiencing teething issues. You can’t be expected to know it all in a month in my opinion. And you’ve said the trainer didn’t have time to fully train you so what do they expect to happen. If they’re worth working for they will hear you out and endeavour to help you. All the best chick. Hope that made sense.

    Reply

  2. When I’m at work, I’m charge nurse for half the facility and for the first couple week until my staff got to know me I just had to tell them “this isn’t me trying to be a bossy bitch, I just like to go over everything with you guys to make sure none of us are missing anything and that we’re all on the same page. I may sound like I’m always telling you things, but it goes both way, I want you guys to tell me everything too.” They’ve gotten used to me now and I’m pretty sure they dont think I’m a bitch…or they hide it really well…but communication with me team is pretty damn good. I find the quiet, “I’m afraid of stepping on toes” approach makes things go REALLY slowly and not so much gets accomplished. Just barrel on in and make sure they know where you’re coming from.

    And don’t be afraid to say you don’t know something. No one every faults you for that. So long as you make the effort to find out. Listen to your staff and take their concerns seriously and do your best. And if you find something you need to learn or need more training in, make a note of it so you have something more concrete to talk to your manager about.

    Reply

  3. I think we’ve all been there, and it’s hard. I hope everything works out. Please keep us updated!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

