Reflection

Thanks everyone for your kind thoughts and words if wisdom.

I think there is a lot going on. Part of it is I went from not working and being 100% free and available 24/7. So having any kind if schedule is frustrating. But this is particularly difficult because my schedule is such that for the 4 days I work, the ONLY human interaction I get, is with my co-workers. So there is extra pressure to connect and get along with my co-workers. I need to find a way to get time with folks on those days, or accept that those 4 days my world becomes very very small.

I also don’t live in an area that is really accessible to a 24 hour lifestyle. My gym isn’t open 24 hours, there are no 24 hour grocers. So that ups the frustration.

Really I think one if the hardest things is this: in moving back to the NW I was really looking forward to celebrating the holidays with my family. And I had accepted the fact that with my new job and schedule, I wouldn’t be spending weekends or holidays with my family… Or at least I had accepted it in theory. But when I had to turn down a holiday party for next weekend it all seemed so much more real, emotionally. And it just sucks. It is really sent me into my little pity party I’m ashamed you all witnessed.

I’m sure there is a way to manage my time a little better. My “usual” work schedule is 6pm-midnight, although some days I have to be in by 5, other times not until 7. And there are evenings I’m there until 2am with cases, or other evenings I’m out at 10:30pm because we are totally dead. I usually sleep from ~2am to 11, although that adjusts per when I get home and how long it takes to unwind. I like the suggestion to putter about and clean after I get home! I can “kill two birds” by unwinding and getting some cleaning done. The real trick is that I need to get better about getting to the gym as soon as I wake up, if I wait until I’ve really “woken up” I’m out of time.

I’m so glad to have my blog friends, you gals save my sanity. Especially on those work days, your own blogs and the comments you leave here help me to feel connected to other people. Here’s hoping this next “work week” that starts on Saturday is smooth sailing! (optimistic, I know, but I can hope!)

4 responses to this post.

  1. Sacrifices are hard. You are sacrificing time with family for a job, and there’s an element of “suckage” in that. I hope you find a balance that works for you!! And great job on the weight loss!! Congrats.

    Reply

  2. how many days a week do you work?

    Reply

  3. Posted by babycrazykiwi on October 15, 2011 at 2:24 pm

    I’m glad you liked the cleaning idea and yep you’re right about the gym if you’re anything like me excercise needs to be done as soon as you’re up otherwise other things pop up. Good luck chick xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

