Stupid Responsibility

Tonight I was excitedly preparing for a fun day tomorrow. Hubster and I had plans to meet up with some friends tomorrow B&H and drive up the peninsula to the Ho National Rainforest (go ahead and do a google image search, you know you wanna) BEAUTIFUL, right? A great way to spend quality time as a couple and connect with old friends from our college days.

Anywhozers, so I was in the shower, anticipating going straight to bed after said shower in order to awaken bright and early for the day trip, when my phone buzzed. When I got out of the shower it was to be faced with a voicemail from my new vet tech job that starts on Monday. Or was supposed to start on.

The voicemail simply stated to call the manager back. Greeeaaaat.

No indication WHY they wanted me to call them. My imagination went into turbo overdrive. Did they decide to go with some other applicant and I was fired before I even began? Were they going to demand request I come in tonight? (I got basically no sleep last night so I’m beyond exhausted at the moment) Was it some other terribleness beyond my imagination???

So with some serious trepidation I called the Manager back. My stomach in knots.

She starts off (imagine an Asian accent):
“Hi *tulip*, how are you?”
-insert social norm niceties here-
“I know we said you start Monday, but I, uh, I, can you come in tonight tomorrow?”
~here is where I subtly avoided getting dragged in tonight~
“oh, sure I can come in tomorrow!”
“oh great! We start training early! See you at 6!”
-insert social normal farewells-

I was just so relieved I hadn’t lost my job, nor was I forced to come in tonight, I would have agreed to just about anything.

But then, as soon as I got off the phone I realized: no way we are getting up early (read: very little sleep) to go on a day trip (read: get home very late) before my FIRST day, er, night (read: first impression) at work.

This trip has been MUCH anticipated. And already rescheduled once.

But I rescheduled it. Again.

Being an adult blows sometimes.

*sigh*

3 responses to this post.

  1. Crappy! I have to do that kind of thing all the time because of Hubby’s work. It sucks. Hopefully you’ll be able to do it soon and not have to reschedule again.

    Reply

  2. Sorry you’ll miss your trip. But it’s still there for another time right!

    Reply

  3. Posted by babycrazykiwi on October 2, 2011 at 4:32 pm

    Being an adult totally blows!! But looking at the sunny side up here at least you’ve got that trip to look forward to 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

