Breaking News!!!

Tonight I went and turned in my resume and cover letter to an after-hours emergency veterinary clinic. I filled out their application, turned it in and left. I was hopeful that I would hear back, but after months of job hunting I was also a bit jaded. I had of course worn interview appropriate attire (just in case!) but had not really “prepped” myself for an interview.

Not 5 minutes after leaving I got a call, asking if I could come back for an interview! So I excitedly turned the car around and went back.

The interview went very well, the manager I spoke with highly complimented my cover letter (multiple times) and we discussed my previous experience, why I moved out here from Colorado and a bunch of “hypothetical al situations” (how do you handle gossip? How do you handle criticism? Etc) I must have done well because I scored a working interview tomorrow night from 7 to 11!!!

I’m really excited but also nervous since it has been a few months since I Teched. I think tomorrow I will have to go overt TPRs (temperature, respiration , pulse rates) for dogs and cats, review the most common drugs (sedatives, anesthetize, analgesics, antibiotics…)

I know that I know all these things but I would hate to make a rookie mistake just because I’m rusty, you know?

I’m excited that it’s a night shift, she said normal shifts are either 6pm-1am or midnight to 8am, and I’m fine with either. It seems very indulgent and decadent to give into my inner night owl.. 😀

Ok, I’m all hyped up and giddy but I really need to get some sleep. I promise to update y’all tomorrow night!

Happy for today? Kind of self explanatory, don’t ya think? 😉
Day 36 of 100 Days of Happiness!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Fantastic news! I’m so happy for you. Best of luck with the work interview =)

    Reply

  2. Congratulations! Good luck with the shift. It always make you nervous when you haven’t used a skill set in a while but it will come right back once you’re there.

    Reply

  3. Posted by babycrazykiwi on September 27, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    Yay good luck for tomorrow I’m sure you’ll ace it!!!!

    Reply

  4. Cooooooooool!
    Keeping my fingers crossed for you!
    I am sure you will do great 😉

    Reply

  5. that’s excellent news! well done you and can’t wait to hear how it goes. fingers crossed

    Reply

Leave a Reply

