Split Personality

Today, I borrow a style from one of my favorite bloggers, Mommy Odyssey….

Emotional Me: I want to get pregnant.  NOW!

Logical Me: Well with Hubster out of town, that’s highly unlikely.  At least, it would be immoral to try with him gone seeing as how you kind of need a man for that.

Emotional:Well, I want to be doing SOMETHING!

Logical: How’s the weight loss coming?

Emotional: Don’t even ask.

Logical: That is something you can be doing.  And should be doing.  It’s simply a matter of reigning in your emotions and thinking of food as nutrition and not instant-gratification-tastiness.

Emotional: *covers ears with hands* LALALALALALALA!  Can’t Hear You!

Logical: Stop that!

Emotional: No, serious, you think I haven’t tried????  Kind of in this pit-o-depression at the moment.  Back off.

Logical: Then go see a psychiatrist or something.

Emotional: Because you wont let me.

Logical: Oh yea, there’s no budget for that.  Thank you for reminding me.

Emotional: I hate you.

Logical: Look at this great fun farm you’re working on!  Just get over your silly depression already, ok???

Emotional: Yes, I love working the farm.  It is very satisfying to see your hard work pay off on something. Since apparently my hard work is getting my diddly in the baby department.  But it doesn’t change the fact that I’m really struggling right now.

Logical: What about the resources you fond on Slackie O’s website for fertility treatment grants?

Emotional: Yea, that was actually a bit of a let down.  They were basically all for IVF treatment, or their deadlines were past.  And IVF seems to be the one thing we do agree upon, in that we don’t want to go down that path. (But hey, all you readers pursuing IVF, go check it out!!!!)

Logical: See, we can work together, just agree with me more often.

Emotional: I hate you.

Logical: Not helping.

Emotional: *sticks tongue out*

Logical: Hey, you want money to go to a psychiatrist, do some job hunting!

Emotional: We did that yesterday.  Only two new openings.  I sent in my resume and cover letter.  … And I don’t wanna job hunt.  It’s really starting to feel pointless.

Logical: So what do you want to do?

Emotional: GET PREGNANT AND HAVE A BABY!!!!!!!!

Logical: We’ve already been over this.  What about go for a walk and get some excercise?  Maybe then you can keep up with the turkey’s better tonight.

Emotional: *snicker*

Logical: Read some more blogs?

Emotional: No.  Everybody is doing stuff, trying new drugs or procedures, or at the very least looking forward to future appointments.  It just reminds me that I have no appointments.  Because Hubster isn’t here.  And since he called to say he got dispatched on a new fire, now I REALLY don’t know when he will be back.

Logical: You’re really difficult.  How about reading your Nook some more?

Emotional: Maybe… but I feel sleepy.  Nap?

Logical: No, you already had a 2+ hour nap today.  Anymore and you’re giving into depression-behavior.

Emotional: It’s not giving in.  It’s going with the flow.

Logical: *smacks Emotional upside the head*

Emotional: OW!  *sniffle*  I want a hug….

Logical: Well there’s nobody here.  Except a plethora of animals.  But we can mentally hug!

Emotional: I guess it will have to do.

….And Scene!  *Emotional and Logical hold hands, come back on stage, bow, collect flowers, bow some more, finally get pushed off stage by the Stage Director*

 

Oh, I almost forgot.  My happy of the day?  When I went out to the farm this morning, I usually milk goats first but I decided on a whim to check on the birds first.  And found a duckling that had got himself wedged between two pieces of wood.  It would have been really easy to overlook since he was in such a weird spot.  At first I thought he had died, but realized he was still warm and breathing (although scratched up and a bit bloody from fighting the wood).  It took some serious thinking on how to un-wedge him but I did and now he’s in the recovery part of the coop.  Just looks like he lost a few feathers and got some scratches.  But if I hadn’t had caught him, he would have died of dehydration.  I saved a birdie! 

Day 17 of 100 Days of Happiness.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by babycrazykiwi on August 27, 2011 at 9:59 pm

    Yay for saving the duck. And I’ve been battling the emotional I want to get pregnant now me too. It sucks.

    Reply

  2. thank goodness you saved the birdie!!

    At least you only hear those voices………just kidding 🙂

    Reply

  3. I think I have that same conversation pretty much every day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

