Oh Happy Day

Yes, you can read the title to the tune of the music from Si.ster Ac.t 2

Alrighty, lots of fun to know and tell.

-The Car: I got it back on Tuesday.  Took it to get the emission test aaaaand…. it didn’t pass.  Joy.  I took it into the mechanic, they looked at the list from the emission test and checked out my car, and came up with another $1,000 to get it emission passable.  Except, I really can NOT afford it.  Sure, I would like to get the things fixed for the health of my car and the health of the environment… but I kind of have bigger, more important things to focus on right now with neither Hubster or I working at the moment.

-Friday: went to the doctor appointment.  Weight loss center in downtown Seattle. I payed $250 to spend an hour with a doctor, imputting my information into her computer thinga-ma-jiggy, and go over rudimentary nutrition information.  But here is the basic plan: 1300 calories a day, eating small amounts every 2 hours, writing down every thing I eat, Calories, Protien, Carbs, and Fats.  Protien has to be higher than Carbs, hoping for 250-300 grams of protein in a day, 10-20 (or less) grams of carbs, fats are unimportant because it is carbs that make you gain weight.  Fat. Does. Not. Make. You. Fat.

-Saturday: went down to Olympia to visit M and her 3 week old son O.  M is a single mom.  I have known her since junior high, and the thing is, she wasn’t just one of those people who always said “oh, I never want kids.”  No, M was one of those people who said “Babies?! Ugh, no, please gouge my eyes out with spoons before you heap that torture on me” so I have to give her credit for making the choice to have the child and keep the child.  Admittedly, she is having a hard time bonding although that could be in part because she is not able to breastfeed, but she is trying to bond and be a good mom.  I asked her what the biggest surprise has been since having O, and she said “That it hasn’t been as bad as I thought it would be.”  Admittedly, it was weird, to be on my side, desiring SO MUCH to be a mom, and to see her struggling so much to adapt to her new life.  But I tried not to go down the bitter lane, I tried to just hold that little boy and lose myself in gazing into his adorable tiny face.  I did ok with the diet until I went to visit M… it’s tough when I get invited to a meal, I’m not exactly going to whip out the measuring cups and start picking apart the food.  So that kind of got shot to sh*t.  😦

Sunday: I went to church.  The liturgy, the music, the homily… it was so great.  The amazing thing is, I get there about a quarter after 9, and in the Orthodox church you stand during the service.  The service starts about 9:30 and goes to about 11ish, and then there is coffee hour… so you stand for 2-3 hours straight.  And even though my feet and back get sore and tired, it is absolutely, totally worth it.

Then a really exciting thing happened, I really started connecting with some women today over the luncheon potluck (again, diet got all messed up… *sigh*), and ended up hanging out and helping them can peaches.  Mostly it was because ay excuse to socialize and make friends I am taking, but also I had never canned before so I was excited to see how that all works.  It was a really great time, and I was kind of sad to excuse myself when I saw the clock getting close to 4 because I had stuff to get to.  The cherry on top?  They graciously sent me home with 4 jars of peaches we had made 😀

In our chatting my blog came up and I gave them my URL, so we shall see if they decide to pop on over… if so, I feel like I need to clarify a few things about my “blogging philosophy” as it were:

-This blog is mainly about my experience with infertility, and all the emotional/psychological/physical things that can mean.  But of course sometimes (like this post) it’s just day-to-day stuff.

-I do not tend to edit or filter myself.  I write this blog very much like a train-of-thought situation.

-Those two things means often the blog get’s a little… “TMI”.  (Too Much Information)  This means I talk about some pretty personal stuff.  And it isn’t always pretty, or “socially appropriate”, but it is honest.  It is partly in an attempt to reach out to the ALI community for support (Adoption, Loss, Infertility) but also to chronicle this journey so that some day, when I look back, I wont have some rose-colored, idealistic idea of what I went through.  I only put this, so that you know what to expect.  So that hopefully I can avoid upsetting anyone because you thought this was something else.  However, since I gave you this URL, I’m trusting that you will keep confidential stuff confidential, and support my husband (who is referred to on here as “Hubster”) and I through this process.

So I ran home, walked my dogs, changed and got back into my car to drive a half hour out to Port Orchard where my friend Polly lives.  Polly lives on a “sustainable living/hobby farm” and will be off camping at the end of August.  She had invited me to go with her and her friends but for a myriad of reasons I had to decline.  The silver lining is that this means I can house-sit for her and all her critters while she is gone.  I cannot tell you how really excited I am to be “farmer” for the weekend 🙂  But of course it is really a lot of work so the reason I went out was to learn how to milk the goats (yes, that’s plural) as well as take car of the chickens/geese/ducks/pigs/extensive vegetable garden.  I felt like I should have been taking notes so…. here are my notes:

-Milk the lightest goat first because she is the most uncooperative.  And make sure she is tied.  Wash hands and udders with HOT, slightly soapy water.

-Make sure the oldest goat gets to eat as much as possible while milking because she get’s pushed around.

-Throw the baby goats a flak of hay while milking the adults so they stop whining.

-Goat food is the FIRST black tub.

-The second black tub is bird food.

-The third is hay.

-The fourth is rabbit food.  (Oh ya, they have rabbits too)

-Filter and weigh the milk, put it in the log to track milk production of each goat.

-Milk every 12 hours

-Do NOT water the squash, blueberry bushes, raspberry bushes, and the potato plants that have flowers or have yellowing leaves.

-Don’t forget to turn on (and off!) the drip hoses that run along the tomato plants

-Zeke the dog gets free-fed.  And sometimes run off.  Call him, go inside, come back out, call again, check the front door.

-Make sure to give fresh water to the rabbits and baby goats and the birds.  Adult goats and pigs are on automatic waterers.

-When feeding the birds, throw food in multiple piles so the baby birds and get to the food.

-Make sure birds are locked into the bird yard at night.  During the day they can roam the property.

-…. I think that’s everything. I really hope that’s everything and I didn’t forget anything already.

It was really great to hang out with Polly and her friends.  While hanging out we were talking about how I need to get my car registered and the drama with that.  I guess where they live they don’t have to do emissions testing, so they offered that I register my car at their address to get around having to spend money I don’t have right now.  At first I was like “no way” but I guess it’s fairly common, and I have to say, it would be a really great solution.  So maybe in the next couple weeks I’ll look into that.  Since I still have my Colorado ID, there is nothing to say that I don’t live with them.  I’m sure that it helps that I have known Polly since 5th grade, so with a history like that we’re practically family.

So then after having dinner with them and hanging out, I came home and gave MY dogs some love.  It will definitely be fun to take them with me out to the farm, where they will have a real YARD to run in instead of leashed walks.

And now, I’ve just been chilling on my couch, typing this out and watching the newest episode of True Blood.  Oh so good!  Can’t wait until next week…. they are magicians at ending episodes on a cliff hanger, which I both love and hate and makes me so much more impatient for next Sunday to roll around!  And nooooow, it is a 1AM so I probably should log off and get some sleep.  But really, I had SUCH a great day, I really appreciated all the love I got today after a fairly stressful and lonely week.  Hopefully this is just a hint of what’s to come this week 🙂     😀     🙂     😀

6 responses to this post.

  1. re your disclaimer, I was just thinking very similarly on my walk home – re train of thought and having stuff out there in the public domain that isn’t “nice” or always “interesting” but having a record of what happened and what it was like at the time. Same for not ALI specific ALL the time (but being as infertility shadows pretty much everything my life, its hard for it to be much else. At this moment anyway.

    That farm weekend sounds ACE, what fun

    And lastly, I dreamt last night that you were pregnant! Lets hope that was a premonition for the future and not just about me eating apple crumble right before I went to bed!

    Reply

    • I was thinking maybe there is a way to put my disclaimer at the head of this blog for anyone who stumbled across it? I’m sure there is a way with wordpress I just don’t know what it is…. hm…..

      Wow, if I was pregnant right now it would be an immaculate conception! But yes, let’s hope it is a shadow of this to come this fall 🙂

      Reply

      • I see you did do the disclaimer – was just reading it thinking hmmm, thats familiar!

        Hey if its good enough for Mary . . . its good enough for you!

  2. really? fat doesn’t make you fat? At all-at all?
    i never knew!

    but i sure know that sweet fruits make me gain weight. Gone are the times when I thought fruits are good for you, swallowing half a dozen of peaches a day. They are good – in moderation 🙂

    congrats on starting this! I wish you all the willpower to go through with this – and go shopping soon for something small-sized (which means, coincidentally, I wish you finding a really good job – soon!)

    🙂

    Reply

    • No kidding, fat doesn’t make you fat. It is a great source of energy. I mean, sure, don’t eat buckets of lard…. but mostly because that’s gross. And would give you crazy diarrhea.

      There are two different kinds of carbs, and it IS important to eat fruits and veggies for vitamins and nutrients, but like you said: in moderation.

      I really hope this works too. Because I have to tell you, I’m really missing daily chocolate!

      Reply

  3. Ah, it will get better, I promise you.
    I have the biggest sweet tooth in the world. I remember I once decided to go along with the atkinson kind of diet (no carbs).
    On about days 2-4 I was SHAKING – that’s how bad the sugar withdrawal was. This was back in the days when I used to go through half a dozen cups of tea a day (at work) – with 2 tbsp of sugar EACH.
    That diet helped me get rid of that bad habit – and well, I did lose something like 12 lbs in a couple of weeks (which was all I needed – in prep for some event).
    And the sugar withdrawal got better after the first few days – so hang in there!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

