Metfomin May Be The Miracle Drug

Hey everybody.  So, you know how I have started taking Metformin?  My doctor kindly titrated the dose to minimize the adverse side effects, but I have already seen some changes. (I started with 500mg for 1 week, and am currently on 1,000mg for one week, and next week will go up to the full dose of 1,500mg per day for the rest of my life…. or until I get pregnant.  Whichever comes first.)

Exhibit A: I normally produce an adequate amount of cervical fluid.  But this cycle it has been…. a lot.  Like, I often wondered if I should have put a panty-line in?  I amused myself with the possibility that I was having sex but blacking it out, and this was post-coital-arousal-lubricant?  Maybe there was a midget in my pants?  Ok, so maybe I’m actually going insane living alone… but at least I was smiling while using copious amounts of toilet paper.

Exhibit B: Yesterday I had some serious pain.   It was intense and sharp, and afterwards I was still having aching pains throughout the afternoon and evening.  While it was on both sides of my abdomen, near me hip bones, it was more intensely on my right side.  I have never in my life experienced ovulatory pain, but I have to wonder if that is what it was.  (I actually for a moment was panicking that my appendix was bursting, but since I could still walk around and talk, was not running a fever or vomiting, I decided against going to the ER.)  Since my #1 problem is that I do not ovulate on my own, the possibility that I could have ovulated on my own for the first time in who-know-how-long, is some serious cause for celebration!

And all that has really happened is that I have been taking Metformin.

Of course, I have not been tracking my BBT so I cannot tell if I ovulated based on any real empirical data.  So I have decided to try and start tracking that again.

In other news, I went to the Weight-Loss Seminar on Monday evening as a prerequisite for my appointment on August 8th.  I went assuming it would be a bunch of BS about the US food pyramid and blah blah blah.  I was ecstatically surprised to find the doctor talking about what our hunter/gatherer ancestors ate, and basically recommended a Paleo/Primal diet which in my nutrition research seems to be the best way to go.  Our bodies were never meant to consume the amount of grains/carb we consume today.  Our bodies actually NEED carbs in order to store fat.  No carbs, no fat gain!  (Ok, that’s simplifying things, but you get the idea)  Anywhozers, I think that this will be a great situation.  The fact is that I already know a LOT about nutrition, I have the book learnin’, what I need is help applying that information as I struggle with controlling my impulses.

Alrighty, I’m off to try and catch up on blogs.  That is my only plan for this evening!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Hmmm… what have I been telling you for months now? 😉

    Reply

    • Posted by BleedingTulip on July 21, 2011 at 2:28 pm

      Ya ya … I blame it on Dr.B for not being willing to prescribe it. He was great in many aspects but I feel like I am in really good hands with my new doctor 🙂

      Reply

  2. Posted by babycrazykiwi on July 22, 2011 at 1:24 am

    Yay for the metaform. I get ovulation pains like nobodies business. I can normally tell which ovary is going to pop and the pain lasts around 2-4 hours at most. All the best my girl!

    Reply

  3. Why is your newest post password protected? How do I get your password?

    Reply

    • Posted by BleedingTulip on July 24, 2011 at 1:07 pm

      By requesting the password. Maybe I didn’t need to password protect the post but I was feeling paranoid. I will email you the password 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

