Fresh Sheets

My momma-la is getting in tomorrow evening.  May I just say she is a very neat and clean individual.  I, am not.  Not on the average day.  And now with all the pre-moving piles I most definitely am not.  We had been organizing piles in the guest room so today I put all the piles that has been on the guest bed in the living room and made a “path” to the bed from the door.  I also changed the sheets for good measure and laid out fresh towels all fancy-like.  Here’s hoping that my attempt at being “hostess” pays off and my mom isn’t too hard on me.

I decided that as long as I was putting new sheets on the guest bed I would put clean sheets on my bed.  My bed’s sheets get changed every 2-4 weeks, depending on how often the dogs sleep in the bed (and how much dirt or hair they track in) I have no idea if that is normal frequency?  Anyway, it’s nice to sprawl in my bed, it’s lovely to have fresh sheets and the bed all made and tucked in.

I had an interesting conversation at work today.  Dr.A and our tech has left for lunch and I was showing the new girl how to do reminders in our computer system and she admitted to me that she feels very un-liked by Dr.A.  I swear, the things she said and expressed to me could have been ME my first month of working at this clinic.  See, Dr.A is very warm with people she knows, but I think that in an effort to “protect” herself, she is very harsh and guarded with new people until they prove that they will work hard and stick around.  The problem is, it scared away a lot of good, quality people, and then it’s this vicious cycle, a self-fulfilling prophecy that as long as Dr.A is cold and guarded against being hurt that employees will leave, well, people will leave.  I tried to explain this a little to the new girl, and encouraged her to stick it out, that the first month is hard, and that this industry has doctors of ALL personalities and you do need to have a bit of a thick skin.  But then I got to thinking about it, and why am I defending this clinic?  I’m leaving in…. *checks calender*… 3 weeks, 6 days.  And I’m leaving the clinic in 3 weeks, 1 day so do I really have so much loyalty?  If the girl doesn’t like working there, she shouldn’t have to.  Oh well, I hope that both New Girl and Dr.A find a situation that is best for everyone.

I am refusing to worry about it.  Instead I’m going to snuggle into my clean sheets with my corgis and my bedtime iTunes and get some sleep.  You hear me Insomnia?  You ain’t welcome, I have fresh sheets!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by babycrazykiwi on June 10, 2011 at 1:40 am

    OOh I LOVE fresh sheets. Especially ones that have been hung on the line on a warm summers day to dry. Tis particularly nice when also wearing freah pj’s!.
    I hope you sleep well tonight.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

