Catharsis

Today I got my tattoo. My bleeding tulip, for the little one I lost last fall. The image is full of symbolism, the petals a mix of red and white, the edges frayed since it is a parrot tulip. I knew this tattoo would perhaps be the most meaningful tattoo I have ever gotten. I thought the pain of the needle would be my “labor”. It was these things. And something more. Of course it is not the same as a child, but finally, finally I have something to show for my pregnancy. To show for my loss. To show the world that I am changed.

This was about halfway through, just the outline and grey shading. And then here is after the color… I’ll post another pick when it is all pretty and healed.

And for my new readers, you can check out all my tattoos and piercings at this post, on my previous blog.

Plenty of other thoughts, but I think I will leave it at that for right now.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Wow, looks good! I love the meaning behind it.

    Reply

  2. Love it!!

    Reply

  3. hey there! catching up after having the plague 🙂
    I’m a big fan of loss tattoos, as you know. I like it a lot! Congrats!
    I was talking to a woman the other day who lost her father and went out and got a tattoo the very next day. I think our emotional scars sometimes deserve some physical ones to represent them. the prettier, the better!

    Reply

  4. […] some of you remember my previous post about my most recent tattoo here, and then a listing of all previous tattoos and piercings on my original blog here.  I wanted to […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

