Bits and Pieces…

Ok, I’ve been sucking at blogging, updating, commenting and replying per ICLW.  Can we call it even in that I tent to follow/comment/post/reply to a lot on a regular basis?  Maybe that’s why sometimes I flake on ICLW week, because I do the act of ICLW all month long, so when it comes around it is the end of the month and I’m overwhelmed and pooped…  Meh, I’ll get caught up with everything on my next day off.

If you are here for ICLW, welcome to me crazy scattered brain.  Hope this isn’t too “Alice in Wonderland” trippy/random/TMIness.  Without further ado, here are the random thoughts flowating around my head.  I’ll try to organize them as best I can in my rather tired and out of sorts state.

1-Pascha was wonderful.  LOVED it.  Beautiful, moving, fun.  However it has really done a number on my sleep schedule.  We statred at midnight on Sunday morning and the service went until 3.  Afterwards was a breakfast-feast-thing where people ate all the things they haven’t been able to eat/drink all lent.  There was lots of sausage, cheese and wine to go around which I find endlessly amusing.  Finally got to bed about 4:30am.  Slept until 1pm, got up, showered and dressed and then went to a Vesper service at 3pm, and than there was a HUGE feast at about 4:30/5ish.  Everybody brought food and drinks, and I brought some desserts.  There was wine, liquor, and even a mini keg.  I’m telling you, Orthodox people know how to party.  And an egg hunt for the kiddos although admittedly I didn’t really participate in that. I texted my supervisor to confirm that there were no appointments for monday, thus I didn’t need to go in.  Super because I was tired, had a flat tire (thankfully Hubster put on my doughnut) I needed to get fixed in the morning and plans to see Rachel and my friend Bee.  Bee and I have both been SO busy I feel like it has been months since we just sat and chatted.

2-Hubster left for his flight, barely making it in time, but he did.  Yay.  However… at 7:30am (I was still asleep) my supervisor texts me to see if Dr.A had told me to be in at noon.  I tell her no, Dr.A never did not text me but I guess I can be there.  I. Am. Pissed.  It’s not enough that I don’t find out until 5 or 6 the night before if I am working tomorrow, but to call me the day OF?  Because I don’t have a life or plans or anything.  But I go in and don’t grumble about it, and try to change my plans a bit so I can still get some things done.  I get the tire fixed when I get off at 2:30 and go spend some much needed catch up time with Rachel.  She has decided to move back to her hometown of Philadelphia and is busy boxing stuff up and trying to get her house on the market.  I know she has missed that city for a number of months, and that it will be a comfort for her to be there as she works on healing over her current miscarriage. I looked at her at one point and told her I feel like we have come full circle, because back when we initially met she was wanting to move to Philly and I had just come back from Seattle and was highly desiring to get back…

Back to work… I was so upset I sat down at my laptop and wrote up a resignation letter.  I haven’t turned it in… we will see what the rest of the week brings, but I am just so DONE.  Because they are in no rush to bring me into the Technician position I find myself doubting my knowledge and abilities that I have because I went to school and have a degree in this shit.  The doctor wouldn’t even allow me to explain to an owner how to give their dog Benadryl.  Seriously?  Seriously!  I don’t need to be learning all the intracasies of scheduling appointments and calling overdue treatments, I need to be practicing writing out drug prescriptions, drawing blood, running urinalysis and monitoring anesthesia.  I go in tomorrow at 8am.  We have two dentals…  Like I said, I’m going to see how this week goes, but really, I have to admit that my heart isn’t in it.

3-I’m feeling excited about our future.  I’m excited that Hubster is out in Tacoma and testing and enjoying time with my family.  I’m excited that when I talk to him he sounds so much happier and freer, and I know that a big part of that is that he is seeing the light at the end of the tunnel, he has about a week or so left with his current miserable job and then he will be off chasing fires.  I am excited about moving to Washington in July.  When Hubster and I discussed the option of TTC now or waiting until after the job one of the things we discussed were the costs… because even with insurance things like IUI isn’t covered.  The average IUI cost is $2,000.  Statistics tell us an IUI gives a couple a %15 chance of conception; conception, not a live birth.  I don’t know about you guys, but the way I feel is there isn’t any amount of money I wouldn’t spend to have a baby… but I don’t want to spend a lot of money and run the risk of ending up with nothing to show for it.  Hubster feels even more strongly about this.  After briefly pursuing surrogacy we know that genetics isn’t an absolute for us.  And so we have been talking about after we move and get settled… pursuing international adoption.  There are lots of different kinds of adoption, but way back when we very first started TTC we talked about “What will we do if this doesn’t work” and we both agreed we were comfortable about the idea of adoption, and that specifically we have a heart of international adoption in the Russian/Eastern Europe area.  We still have a while before we can really do much for it as far as doing paperwork or anything, but the more I think about it the more excited I get.  The more I realize that I am emotionally open to the idea in a way I haven’t been yet.  Infertiles often bemoan the casual “suggestion” from friends/family/strangers to “just adopt”.  There is a lot that goes into considering adoption, and one reason we have not really pursued it is because we currently wouldn’t qualify since we have a roommate.  I’ve also heard that they require couples make $60,000+ per year which we don’t… that works out to about $5,000 a month.  If we both can get jobs in the fields we want in the Seattle/Tacoma area I think those numbers are actually possible.  (Although I get really confused because many of the families that I know that had adopted don’t make that kind of money… Anyone know where I can get reliably accurate information?  There is so much misinformation it makes me want to throw my laptop across the room…)

4-I better get my butt asleep if I’m going to get up, shower and get to work on time by 8.  Damn insomnia…

5-Oh!  I almost forgot, here is the TMI I mentioned in the beginning…  Hubster and I had sex Sunday! *Happy Dance* It was very much what we call “sleepy sex”, so it wasn’t crazy-passionate-world-rocking-sex, but it was nice and since we were both so tired there was minimal pressure to be creative or something.  Hurray for us and our love life!

8 responses to this post.

  1. getting the yarn for your request today–i was going to go with rich primary color tones of cocacola red, kelly-sih green and sunshine yellow. is that ok? or would you prefer deeper tones of each more like forest green, brick red and golden yellow? (does that make sense?)

    Reply

    • That sounds perfect! I can’t wait to see it 🙂

      Reply

      • Great!! hope you find the book–i think i saw it on kindle from amazon (and turns out you can read kindle on your computer)–might be cheaper than the actual book. though, i have to brag on my little local library–two small shelves of preg books, and that was one of them!!)

      • I did find it for my Nook (Ah, Kindle and Nook battle again…) and probably will purchase it in the next week or so. It is cheaper that way vs. an actual book… although good idea on the library, I should check to see if my local library has it. You would think a college town with three public libraries would have an excellent selection but it’s kind of hit-or-miss.

  2. calling you in on your day off? Not on

    Wow, that much for adoption. Sounds like a privilege for the rich. Although I’m sure they want to be assured kids are not being adopted out into abject poverty . . . wow

    Reply

  3. Posted by Sarah on April 27, 2011 at 7:31 am

    Happy ICLW

    I would ask around to different agencies. Each State and Agency have different criteria for adoption

    ICLW #96

    Reply

  4. FYI – the IUI itself is cheap (probably $100-300, depending on your clinic). It’s the med protocol and monitoring protocol that will make it cost anywhere from $2000-5000/cycle. If you want to give your own body another try and you ovulate regularly (or if you don’t ovulate regularly and are willing to pay for just a couple of ultrasounds or consistently use OPKs and temp and check cervical mucus to time the IUI itself), you might want to give that a shot.

    Good luck, whatever you do!

    Reply

    • Ya, I think for my clinic the actual IUI was about $300, but the monitoring and drugs puts it up to a total of about $2,000 for the cycle. On one hand, I think it’s totally worth it and that it has helped countless people conceive. But my hubby really hesitates to spend that kind of money without feeling really confident that it will help us.

      I don’t ovulate naturally so just doing OPK’s/temp/CM wont really help us. And with Hubby’s low sperm volume (last sample he only gave a half of a milliliter when the average man’s sample size is 1.5-5millileter was one reason we were really tempted to think and IUI would be what would finally help us get pregnant.

      However I do keep an eye on my cycle and we will casually continue trying just “time intercourse” because certainly mircales do happen… but we don’t have a lot of hope or faith in it like we did 2 years ago either.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

